No Attached Feelings

When I first started selling my items that I had no use for, I noticed that I was pricing things higher based on how I felt about them.

postadsuk.com-23-used-books-cds-dvds-games-amp-books[1]Books of which I’d never read again, but loved the author, I couldn’t very well price those books lower than books I had no feelings for. But these books sometimes were just as low in competing prices, if not lower, than other books on Amazon.

Same went for CDs or movies I liked enough, but not enough to keep. Renting from the library is sufficient, but could I part with this item for $1.07 plus shipping when I paid $19.95 plus tax for it? Feelings and emotions have to be set aside when decluttering or flipping items.

Story: My wife and I went to an estate sale. The couple were losing their home and have to liquidate all of their possessions. I motioned to the books.

north-sea_hidden-passageway[1]“How much?” He started pointing to random books, paperbacks for this amount, hardbacks for that amount, but this one is twice the cover price. Why? Because he was mentioned in it.

“I’m on page 130!” he bragged.

So the %$#@ what?

I’m not on page 130, so why would I pay double the price of the book? Why would I even pay even half of the cover price? He was too attached to his possessions. He was emotional about his liquidation. Understandable, but still.

bigstock-bold-warning-stamped-on-tax-fo-41834719[1]When the estate sale ended, he was probably still sitting on a lot of possessions, and I would bet a C-note that he still has that book or the tax-man got it.

Just because something has sentimental value to you means little to the buyer who is interested in it. That gift, that heir, that name-drop might be worth only pennies on Amazon.

